YEAR-END GIVING | Print Page | Sign In | Join!
The Foundation
Share |

History of the OEFOM

The (OEFOM) was founded in August of 1967, and chartered by the State of Oklahoma as a nonprofit, charitable organization.
Because of the need for additional physicians in the state, especially those in general practice, members of the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association provided wholehearted support of the Foundation by first granting the Foundation a substantial loan, then by individually pledging contributions of $1,000 or more plus voluntary quarterly gifts. Lay persons soon joined the effort and the OEFOM has continued to grow.
OEFOM is governed by a Board of Trustees comprised of D.O.s and lay persons of varied experiences, two of whom are elected annually for five-year terms.

Purpose of the OEFOM

Better health care for all Oklahomans is the primary purpose of the Foundation. Designated funds are used to support student scholarships annually, to enrich the Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine, located in Tulsa, and to maintain the Oklahoma Osteopathic Educational Center in Oklahoma City.

  • OEFOM Endowed Student Scholarship Program

The OEFOM endowed student scholarship program gives Oklahoma osteopathic medical students financial assistance with their osteopathic training. You may honor or remember by means of a gift to the fund for a loved one or friend who is living or deceased.

Bob E. Jones Endowed Student Scholarship Program

This endowed student scholarship program was established in October 1997. It provides scholarship assistance to Oklahoma osteopathic medical students attending AOA accredited institutions. The endowed program honors the memory of Bob E. Jones, CAE who was a loyal and effective leader, serving as Executive Director of the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association for thirty years, and made significant contributions to the osteopathic profession.

Osteopathic Founders Foundation Endowed Student Scholarship Program

The OFF endowed student scholarship program provides annually a scholarship to a deserving and outstanding medical student. Your gifts can be designated for this fund as a living memorial.


Make a Memorial

click here to honor a loved one






President: Mary Shaw

 President-Elect: Robin Dyer, DO

Vice President: Larry Derryberry, JD

Secretary/Treasurer: Lynette C. McLain



William Andrew (Term 2017)
(NW Osteopathic Foundation)

Dennis J. Carter, DO (Term 2013)

Gore Gaines, JD (Term 2016)

Gary McClanhan (Term 2013)

Trudy J. Milner, DO
(OSU-COM Alumni Association)
Jeffrey L. Shipman, DO (Term 2017)

Sherri L. Wise (Term 2014)
(Osteopathic Founders Foundation)

Stephen W. Woodson, DO (Term 2015)

Layne E. Subera, DO, 2012-2013 OOA President 

Bret S. Langerman, DO, 2012-2013 OOA  President-Elect

Michael K. Cooper, DO, 2012-202  OOA Vice President