YEAR-END GIVING | Print Page | Sign In | Join!
News & Press: Association News

“Doctor of the Year” Award

Monday, May 14, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Tyler Lenz
Share |


OKC Doctor Receives “Doctor of the Year” Award from the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association

 OKLAHOMA CITY - The Oklahoma Osteopathic Association named James W. Hogin, DO, as the “Doctor of the Year” on April 28 at its 118th Annual Convention at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Tulsa, Oklahoma.  

Dr. Hogin received his medical degree in 1974 from the Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine.  He then came to Tulsa, Oklahoma for his internship and residency at the Tulsa Osteopathic Hospital and then on to Oklahoma City for a Gastroenterology fellowship at the University of Oklahoma.  Dr. Hogin also served as President of the Board for the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association in 2003 & 2004.

Dr. Hogin lives in Oklahoma City with his lovely wife, Linda, five daughters and three grandchildren.

The Oklahoma Osteopathic Association serves more than 2,300 members, including practicing physicians, residents, interns, osteopathic medical students and retired physicians. Doctors of osteopathic medicine, or DOs, practice in 69 of the state’s 77 counties and in 147 Oklahoma communities. Oklahoma DOs practice in all areas of medicine from cardiology to sports medicine to radiology.

DOs complete four years of medical training and continue their education in postgraduate internships and residencies. As complete physicians, DOs are able to prescribe medication and perform surgery. In addition, DOs have added training in osteopathic manipulative medicine (OMM), a hands-on treatment tool they can use to diagnose and treat injuries or illnesses. OMM can be used in conjunction with, and sometimes in place of, medication or surgery to restore mobility and function. For more information about Oklahoma DOs, visit the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association’s website at